Ayurveda Treatment

Ayurveda Treatment

Rest and Relaxation

Ayurveda Treatment

Ayurveda which is a Sanskrit term which means “knowledge of life”, focuses on total wellness by balancing the internal and external parts of the human being. Ayurveda has deep history and is said to have originated in India. With time , Ayurveda has become a global phenomenon and has transcended in been popular alternative medicine and treatment. It is written in ancient texts, that Ayurveda was passed on from Gods down to man. The treatments in Ayurveda are typically herbal based. As per ancient text, surgical techniques were also used in the past. 

The five great elements which are ether, air, fire, water and earth makes the balance of life possible. In Ayurveda, it its grouped into three types which work as energy and functionality that it is seeing in every individual. There are no direct English translations to the three elements and it is typically called in Sanskirt as Vata, Pitta and Kapha. All our experiences have certain qualities embedded in it. In Sanskrit these qualities are called Gunas and is essentially paired into 10 opposites. As an example, string versus light. The idea of Ayurveda is to identify if the gunas become imbalanced (excessive or deficient) Therefore Ayurveda applies the opposite quality to bring the pairs back to balance. In Ayurveda, 08 branches exist

● Kaayachikitsa – Internal Medicine
● Baalachikitsa – Pediatrics
● Bhuta Vidya – Psychiatry
● Shalakya Tantra – Ear, Nose and Throat Treatment
● Shalya Tantra – Surgery (not practiced in the United States today)
● Vishagara Vairodh Tantra – Toxicology
● Jarachikitsa/Rasayana – Geriatrics and Rejuvenation
● Vajikarana — Aphrodisiac Therapy, Fertility, and Conception

Additionally, Ayurveda offers arguably one of the most comprehensive cleansing methods which is famously known a Panchakarma. Essentially, Panchakarma uses five methods of therapy to help release and destroy toxins within deep tissues and balance Doshas to its proper states. The three Dosha’s as as follows.

Vata Dosha

Most who practice Ayurveda believe this to be the most important of the three Dosha’s. It helps control mind, heart function, breathing , blood flow and ability to get ride of waste through intestines. There are many ways that above can be disrupted, some been eating too much, fear , lack of sleep, grief. If Vata is the main life force of an individual then it is likely to develop conditions such as heart disease, skin problem, anxiety etc. Maintaining a balance is the main part this Dosha. Vata represents the energy of movement, hence it is associated with wind (air element)

Pitta Dosha

It represents the energy of transformation and is closely linked with the fire element. In living creatures, pitta is predominantly liquid hence the secondary element been Water. Pitta is very much related to understating, digestion of foods, thoughts, emotions and intelligence. It further controls nutrition, body temperature etc. Elements that could disrupt this dosha is eating sour or spicy food.

Kapha Dosha

Since Kapha is associated closely with earth and water elements and it offers structure, solidity, cohesiveness. It also embodies the watery energies of love and compassion. Due to this representation , the dosha endeavors to hydrate all cell and system, moisturizes the skin, protects tissues and lubricates joints. Elements that could disrupt the process is excessive sleeping, eating to many sweet foods and having too much of salty intakes. If imbalanced, it could cause cancer, obesity, nausea etc.